Portraits and Facial Impressions – Set 5

Over the years I have accumulated photos of people who left lasting impressions in my mind.  Most of them are just ordinary individuals in various places I’ve visited whose actions or facial expressions represented certain peculiar characteristics which made their image in the photo more meaningful.  I’m sharing these photos in this series entitled “Portraits and Facial Impressions”. This is Set 5 of the series.

.

.

A man and his group wait for for their connecting flight

 “The Long Wait” / Turkey 2010 [Ataturk International Airport, Istanbul]: I was on transit to Tbilisi, Georgia and had more than an hour before boarding.  I was looking for a quiet nook where I can sit and stretch when I noticed this group casually slump on the floor of the main hall of the terminal.  I was struck by their obliviousness to their surroundings (people staring, some taking pictures intentionally using them as a background) but, nevertheless, I still discretely snapped some shots using a zoom lens.

.

.

A man tending an ice cream booth

.

.

.

“Ice Cream Man” / Turkey 2010 [Ataturk International Airport, Istanbul]: He yelled from time to time offering “Turkish ice cream” but his colorful attire and booth also caught my attention. Because of the busy surroundings, I had to spend some time to get a clear shot and when the front of his booth finally got cleared of passersby,  he already knew that I was taking his photo and he was staring at my camera. I thanked him but didn’t get to try the ice cream though.

.

.

.

 

A man scavenges a garbage dump

“Reality by my Window” / Mongolia 2009 [Ulaanbaatar]:  It was a cold, rainy morning in Ulaanbaatar, around 10 degrees Celsius at that time. As I gazed from the second floor window of the prestigious office I was working with, I noticed this guy appear from out of nowhere, collect things from the garbage dump into a sack, then disappear behind the buildings. I knew I won’t be able to catch him if I attempted to get closer so I just snapped a few shots through the foggy window.

It is said that a certain number of the population in Ulaanbaatar lives in the sewers under the city. The sewers not only provide shelter but also proper heating because the steam pipes that distribute heat to the city also pass through these sewers.  Thus the sewers are an acceptable alternative to those who can  not afford proper housing. I wonder if this guy lived in the sewers.

.

.

Porters at Uvs Market

 “Market Porters” / Mongolia 2005 [Ulaangom Soum, Uvs Province]: I got an opportunity to visit the western Mongolian province of Uvs in 2005.  Among the many places I visited was the market at Ulaangom, the provincial capital,  where, because of the province’s proximity to Russia; many Russian items are being sold. Of course Mongolian products which consist mainly of meat, felt, hide/leather, milk products and, occasionally vegetables, were also being traded in the market and I was silently pleased to notice that most of the heavy transporting of these goods within the proximity of the market was being done by these horse-drawn porter carts.  This was  in contrast to the situation in Ulaanbaatar where the streets are crowded with cars and luxury vehicles are not uncommon.

