Structures in Sepia

My recent visits to the Republic of Georgia in South Caucasus in late 2010 and early 2011 probably contributed  the most number of photos to my collection.  This was not only because I made it a commitment to visit as many places and take as many pictures whenever possible but also, to a greater extent, because I found a lot of photo-perfect scenes in this beautiful country.  I have published most of my colored photos in my HubPages site but still found a lot of beautiful, mostly unpublished photos in my folders.  Some of these photos look best in sepia or black and white so I’m publishing a series of blogs in this category.  This is the second set in this category.

A new building at the town center features a tower clock

Tower Clock” / Georgia 2011 [Batumi, Adjara Autonomous Region]: This newly-built tower clock dominates the view of a certain portion of the town center of Batumi so it was the first area we explored.  The early morning sunlight provides a soft tone to the photo; the round light bulbs of a streetlamp creates a striking contrast to the straight lines of the tower in this photo.

.

.

A brick building and a quiet street

“Early Morning Walk” / Georgia 2011 [Batumi, Adjara Autonomous Region]: This city street looks deserted early in the morning with very few pedestrians but it was bursting with activity when we came back later in the day.  The brick building caught my attention as it was quite new and distinct from the other buildings on this street.

.

.

The Bagrati Cathedral under renovation

“Bagrati Cathedral” / Georgia 2011 [Kutaisi, Imereti] : The Cathedral of the Dormition, more commonly known as Bagrati Cathedral, was built on the 11th-century on top of a hill overlooking the city of Kutaisi. It was destroyed during an Ottoman invasion and restoration works has been on-going since 1952 but has not been completed until the time I visited in April 2011.

