Black Sea

My recent visits to the Republic of Georgia in South Caucasus in late 2010 and early 2011 probably contributed  the most number of photos to my collection.  This was not only because I made it a commitment to visit as many places and take as many pictures whenever possible but also, to a greater extent, because I found a lot of photo-perfect scenes in this beautiful country.  I have published most of my colored photos in my HubPages site but still found a lot of beautiful, mostly unpublished photos in my folders.  Some of these photos look best in sepia or black and white so I’m publishing a series of blogs in this category.  This is the third in this category.  The three photos were taken on the same day as I explored the coastline of the Black Coast in Batumi.

.

Two ladies enjoy the morning breeze by the beach

“Morning Stroll” / Georgia 2011 [Batumi, Adjara Autonomous Region] :   Spring has just started and not too many people were on the beach when I visited.  We encountered a few tourist groups in the city, several from the neighboring Turkey and from not so distant Iran, but I was told that the place will be packed with tourists in summer.  Apparently, these two ladies were among the early tourists from one of these Muslim countries and they went to the beach not to swim but just to enjoy the view.

.

.

A local spends the early morning by the seaside

“Cold and Alone” / Georgia 2011 [ Batumi, Adjara Autonomous Region] :  Since the weather was still cold, there were no sunbathers yet.  This man, in full jacket and hood, spends a quiet time on a sunbathing couch by the empty beach.

.

An elderly man waits for the best time to cast his fishing line

“An Old Man and the Sea” / Georgia 2011 [Batumi, Adjara Autonomous Region] : The Batumi Port lies on the eastern portion of the city’s coastline.   A lot of activity was already going on at the port early in the morning but this elderly man just sat there on the rocks near the port as if in deep thought.

