Still Life & Random Objects #3

Majority of the photos I’ve collected are those of scenes and landscapes but, from time to time, while looking at a scenery, certain objects or structures stand out and catch my attention and eventually get captured into a photo.  These series of posts contain photos of these random objects, mostly taken in their normal/regular setting — not arranged or contrived as usually practiced in still life photography to attain the desired effect. Photos taken in the Philippines and Georgia are featured in this post.

An array of beautifully-arranged books

“My Dream Library” / Philippines 2008 [The Fort, Taguig, Metro Manila] :  A passionate book lover, a certain indescribable urge burns inside me when I see a display of books. I have a few hundred books in my mini-library at home but I always dreamed of having a collection as extensive and beautifully-arranged such as this one featured in a posh coffee shop at The Fort in Taguig (yes, you can browse through these books while having a cappuccino).  Honestly, I have to catch up on my reading though.

.

A baby peacefully sleeps by a display of T'boli traditional garb and trinkets

.

.

.

.

.

“A Baby and Souvenirs on Display” / Philippines 2010 [Lake Sebu, South Cotabato] : The T’boli is a group of indigenous people believed to be the original inhabitants of the exotic town of Lake Sebu and its neighboring areas in the Province of South Cotabato.  They are very popular for their colorful traditional handicrafts and hand-women fabrics such as the t’nalak. Presently, some homes of enterprising locals in Lake Sebu usually double as a display area for T’boli souvenir items. In this photo, a baby soundly sleeps at the display area.

.

Entrance to the Jvari Monastery

“Wild Flowers” / Georgia 2011 [Jvari Monastery, Mtskheta] :  The 6th century Jvari Monastery, which sits on top of a hill, provides a magnificent view of the medieval town of Mtskheta (Georgia’s old capital) and the Kura and Aragvi rivers.  It was a rainy morning when I visited the place, the sky was cloudy and the pavement was wet, but a bunch of flowers displayed at the entrance gave more life to the otherwise gloomy day.  I found out later that an elderly couple gathered these flowers from the surrounding fields and sold them to tourists visiting the monastery.

