Black Forest

My recent visits to the Republic of Georgia in South Caucasus in late 2010 and early 2011 probably contributed  the most number of photos to my collection.  This was not only because I made it a commitment to visit as many places and take as many pictures whenever possible but also, to a greater extent, because I found a lot of photo-perfect scenes in this beautiful country.  I have published most of my colored photos in my HubPages site but still found a lot of beautiful, mostly unpublished photos in my folders.  Some of these photos look best in sepia or black and white so I’m publishing a series of blogs in this category.  The fourth in this category, this post focuses on photos with trees as the main subjects. Two of the photos in this post were also included in my other article, “The Road to Tsinandali”, published at HubPages.com.

.

.

Entrance to Shuamta

“Shuamta” / Georgia 2010 [Shuamta Monastery, Kakheti Region] :  The Shuamta Monastery is a complex made up of three churches from different periods – 6th, 7th and 8th centuries – and tucked deep inside a forest in the Kakheti Region of Georgia.  The entrance to the complex was so discrete that we almost missed the turn to the dirt road that would lead us to the monastery.  It was a very foggy morning and, arriving at the main entrance to the complex, I had an eerie feeling that I have been transported back in time.

.

.

Silhouettes of leafless tree against the fog

Trees in the Mist” / Georgia 2010 [Shuamta Monastery, Kakheti] : The eerie feeling I had while exploring the compound of the Shuamta Monastery was encouraged by the cold and deafening silence of the surroundings set against these silhouettes of trees against the fog.  A similar scene must have been the inspiration of Robert Frost* when he wrote;

The woods are lovely, dark, and deep,
But I have promises to keep…

.

.

A rest inside the woods

“The Promise of Spring” / Georgia 2011 [Sataplia Nature Reserve, Kutaisi] : Spring has arrived when we visited the Sataplia Nature Reserve in Kutaisi.  Although the trees in the woods still had to show signs of re-growth; the sun was up, moss and wild flowers have started to bloom in the forest’s floor.  In this photo, a friend takes a break on a bench before continuing with trek inside the woods;

And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep….

*Robert Frost, Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening 

