Still Life & Random Objects #4

Majority of the photos I’ve collected are those of scenes and landscapes but, from time to time, while looking at a scenery, certain objects or structures stand out and catch my attention and eventually get captured into a photo.  These series of posts contain photos of these random objects, mostly taken in their normal/regular setting — not arranged or contrived as usually practiced in still life photography to attain the desired effect. Photos taken in Georgia, Indonesia, and Mongolia are featured in this post.

.

A pair of shoes by colorful beach rocks

 “Gone Swimming” / Georgia 2011 [ Batumi, Adjara Autonomous Region] : This is one of my favorites of the photos I took in Batumi, Georgia.  A portion of the beach in the border town of Sarpi is dotted by this colorful rocks.  My Georgian friend really liked the clear water so he took off his shoes and clothes then jumped into the water.  I was not sure I can handle the water so I stayed on the rocks and took photos including this one.  Just a few minutes later, he got out of the water complaining that it was still too cold.  It was the first day of spring.

.

A row of glasses is being filled with drinks for a village feast

.

.

.

.

“Village Feast” / Indonesia 2006 [Banda Aceh, Nanggroe Aceh Darussalam] : It was more than one year after the Indian Ocean Tsunami and we, together with thousands of other humanitarian workers, were still hard at work to facilitate the recovery of  the devastated areas of Aceh.  After rehabilitating the water resources of one village, community members organized a village feast to celebrate the milestone.  In this photo, rows and rows of glasses are being filled with drinks to be served during the feast.

.

.

.

Tomato on the sand

“A Tomato Story” / Mongolia 2005 [Gobi Desert, Umno Gobi Province] : This discrete tomato has a story to tell.  I and my Mongolian hosts were hiking up the sand dunes of the Gobi Desert when this tomato fell off from one of our lunch baskets.  I found the almost improbable image of a tomato on the sand dunes quite interesting so I took a snapshot.  The resulting image, this photo, became my laptop’s wallpaper and got shared by many friends for quite a while.  Moral lesson: Life’s misfortunes can be opportunities for us to shine and be useful in a different way.

