Still Life & Random Objects #7

Majority of the photos I’ve collected are those of scenes and landscapes but, from time to time, while looking at a scenery, certain objects or structures stand out and catch my attention and eventually get captured into a photo.  These series of posts contain photos of these random objects, mostly taken in their normal/regular setting — not arranged or contrived as usually practiced in still life photography to attain the desired effect. Photos I took in the Philippines and Georgia are featured in this post.

Vine, flower and moss create a dramatic interplay of colors and shapes in this photo

“Jade Vine” / Philippines 2011 [Eden Nature Park, Davao City] : A section of Eden Nature Park in Davao City features a collection of various flowering vines, among them this so-called “Jade Vine”.  So named  probably according to its jade-ish-colored flowers and purportedly a native of the Philippine jungles; this vine glaringly stood out among the park’s collection.  In this photo I took a close-up of its bunch of flowers dangling beside its twisted trunk and the mossy post of its trellis to create this exciting combination of shapes and colors.

.

.

A display of beaded T'boli trinkets in Lake Sebu

“T’boli Trinkets” / Philippines 2010 [Lake Sebu, South Cotabato]: The T’boli is an indigenous tribe who inhabits the scenic mountainous town of Lake Sebu, in the Philippines.  Aside from its popular woven fabric, the t’nalak, the tribe is also famous for its colorful beaded trinkets such as those on display in a souvenir shop in this photo.

.

.

A few random objects in my hotel bathroom

“Bathroom Objects” / Georgia 2011 [Hotel VIP Victoria, Tbilisi] : I suddenly found myself bored one evening in my hotel room in T’bilisi so I took my camera and snapped a photo of these newly-replaced items by the bathroom mirror. I liked the consistent background color, the light bouncing on the glassy items, and their soft reflection on the mirror.  Other than that, they were just simple, random objects that caught the attention of a bored photo hobbyist.