Bamboo 2

Jessie T. Ponce Photography

Strong but flexible; slim but sturdy — these are the bamboo‘s admirable qualities that are often preached to be emulated in human character especially among Asians.  Being strong doesn’t necessarily mean being stiff or inflexible. Even Bruce Lee, in talking about the fluidity of his martial arts, uses the bamboo as an example: “Notice that the stiffest tree is most easily cracked, while the bamboo or willow survives by bending with the wind”.  The combined strength and pliability of the bamboo is further extended to a lesson in humility by a Chinese proverb which says, “The taller the bamboo grows, the lower it bends.”

Jessie T. Ponce Photography

On another note, I was inspired by comments in my previous post, Bamboo 1, particularly by Lance of weisserwatercolors and gweaverii of She Kept a Parrot, who said that the photo looked like a watercolor painting.  I used to do water painting a long time ago but they were mostly in color so the semblance of Bamboo 1 to a painting didn’t immediately register because it was in sepia.  Upon examining the above photos, however, I easily saw what they meant and it made me think that perhaps I’ve been subconsciously composing my photos the way I would have painted the subject.  I’m not sure if that’s a good practice but I know that  it will take me weeks, even months, to paint the above images while it took me a  just few minutes to shoot and only a few minutes more to process the above photos. Basically my choice of art form has changed but my love for art has not.

