Trails and Fodder Fields 1

Jessie T. Ponce Photography

Mongolia, September 2012: Eight years ago, when I had my first opportunity to travel to the Mongolian countryside, the first thing I did was to buy myself a road map.  The map I got was colorful and elaborate but no sooner did I realize that it was totally useless.   The real roads were only those that connected some provincial centers to the capital.  The others were just tire tracks or you can just invent your own.  I waited for an opportunity since then to take photos of  tire tracks etched on the steppe’s surface in areas where there was supposed to be a road.  I finally captured some on this trip.  This is one of my favorites.

Jessie T. Ponce Photography

Bulgan Province: Presently, there is an estimated 50 million heads of livestock in Mongolia  (a ratio of around 18 heads for each Mongolian citizen) and Mongolians love to boast that their livestock are the best being 100% naturally bred and raised.  And so I was surprised to find fodder fields instead of natural grazing lands in this region.  Of course, the lines and contours also attracted my camera.

