An Early Start

Girl fishing at Buka Passage

“An Early Start” / Sohano Island, Autonomous Region of Bougainville, PNG / November 2014

November 2014:  I was really happy that my trip to Papua New Guinea this time included a week in the Autonomous Region of Bougainville (ABG).  It’s been a while since I visited the region.  When in Bougainville, we usually stay at Sohano, a scenic island just across a narrow channel (they call it Buka Passage) from the main town of Buka.  Morning walks around the island was not only a good exercise for the body but a great stimulant to the artistic senses and a busy time for my camera’s viewfinder.  On one particular morning I chanced upon this girl dangling a fishing line into the calm waters of the Buka Passage.  I don’t know if she was doing it for serious fishing or just to play but I knew she’d make a good header and opening photo for this series on ABG.