PNG Portraits, Etc.

fly river

A couple transports their produce of greens and other vegetables along the Fly River on a dugout canoe.

Papua New Guinea, November 2014: Travelling to remote villages along the Fly River in Western Province, the savannahs and rubber plantations of Central Province, and the shores of Bougainville; I’ve taken lots of photos not only of local landscapes (most of them already posted here) but also of people, mostly of children, in their usual chores in their villages.  I have recently returned to PNG and am already accumulating more photos but decided to first publish the left-overs from my previous trip. This two-part series of galleries, feature these random shots in black and white or sepia.

Fly River

Three kids play on the shores of a Fly River tributary, their faces showing alarm as I approached with my camera lens pointing at their faces.

Fly River

Many of the boats (dugouts and dinghies) of villagers along the Fly River are fitted with outboard engines for faster travel. At night, they detach the engines and store them in small huts along the riverbank for safekeeping. This boy stands guard in one of the huts.

Fly River

The wall of the storehouses as well as in most homes are made of the outer skin of the trunk of a certain variety of palm trees. This material is resistant to water and wood bugs and can last for many years.

Fly River

Hiking uphill towards the village from the bank of the Fly River, I encountered this young boy following behind his mother and using an umbrella to protect himself from the intense tropical heat.

Fly River

Sensing that he was scared of me and was about to cry; I offered him a candy bar before I took this photo.

Fly River

Sensing the small commotion as we passed his house, this naked boy emerged at the door and gave me a thumb-up sign.

Fly River

As I stood in front of this house, the elderly man noticed that I was sweating and panting from the hike and so he checked his containers to offer me water but realized that they were empty.

Fly River

Also realizing that guests were standing on their front yard, these three girls emerged from the inner room to inspect what’s happening.

 

 

 

 

 

